7 Comments

Lent

I am Catholic. Ash Wednesday signifies the beginning of Lent.  Lent is generally celebrated by a variety of Christian faiths. Many faithful will fast or giving up something of ‘luxury’ as a form of penitence.  I have friends who are giving up chocolate and even one who is giving up facebook. 

I’ve always chosen (generally) to ‘ADD’ something to help me remember my faith. I found that giving something up, would make me resent lent, or something of that sort, and I want to always celebrate my faith.

This year I’ve decided to commit to being HAPPY…every day!!  This is one of my favourite pictures that really (I feel) shows me at my happiest:

There has been a lot of turmoil in my life in the last year, and though I have survived it, I sometimes end up on a self-pity party. I realize that this never helps, and sometimes makes things worse (temporarily)…so no more. I’m expecting that 40 days of perpetual happiness will create a great habit of happy 🙂

How do you keep from getting down in the dumps? Do you have a sure-fix for keeping things light, and keeping the smile on your face?

7 comments on “Lent

  1. Hi Stacey,
    I haven’t figured out what to do for lent yet. (I know – I’m late!) But I like your idea! I’ll have to give it some thought. Funny that you’re blogging about this and the guest at LFI is talking about dealing with sadness. We’re all so connected!
    Lori

  2. Hi Stacey:
    I really like your idea..and that is a great picture, you both truly look happy. Wishing you all the best for the next 40 days and beyond! I don’t celebrate Lent actually but think I will try to follow your lead:)

    • Thanks Nancy, it was my first time to Squamish and it was incredible! I LOVED that trip! Happiness is key in life! And life is what we make of it…so if we concentrate on the happiness of it…then BINGO… life is good 🙂 Being happy can’t be a bad thing 😀

  3. I like the idea that you “add” for lent instead of taking something away. I’d never thought of it that way before.

    When I graduated from university (undergrad), I was pretty lost and unsure what I wanted to do. That lead to a time of unhappiness and turmoil. After a while I decided, like you just did, to be happy and turn my thoughts from for down to up for a while. It worked. After a while I felt better about life and was able to jump at a great opportunity when it came my way. I know”happy thoughts” won’t solve everyone’s unhappiness, but it sure helped me when I needed it.

    • You’re right Marcelle, JUST thinking happy thoughts won’t fix all the world’s problems, but I believe that if you are in a happy mind-set…then solutions to whatever ‘problems’ you may be dealing with, come easier. It’s incredible how the human brain can be happy, even in a time of turmoil. I think humans naturally want to be happy (of course), so if we focus on this…it happens, like a habit 🙂

Leave a Reply

